Cycling in Cape Town: Hazardous to your Health?

It was a beautiful morning today as I started out for my cycle from Constantia Village sans my riding partner Jason. I am still suffering from a bit of niggle with my calf after last weeks Die Burger Cycle Tour and so decided to take it relatively relaxed. Nice way to get used to my tri bars anyway!

So I was about 20 mins into my ride down on my tri bars swooping down Spaanschemat Road. Unfortunately some idiot in a Black Audi TT decided to ignore the solid white lines, speed limit and other road users and without indication pulled out and put foot, overtaking a couple of cars. This coincided with me passing another cyclist in front of me (as there were no cars behind) as I thought no one would think of overtaking on a solid line, wrong!

Long story short my life flashed before me as said Audi came hurtling head on, I had no where to go and breathed in as I heard a crack and felt a shudder as the car came past me with a mild swipe. This was followed by a barrage of hooting as other cars vented their frustration at the reckless driver and checked to see if I had survived the ordeal. I did 🙂

Sadly there was a traffic official some cars back, that must have seen the incident as he cruised past with a big smile on his face! I however was not smiling and cut my ride short thankful to still be alive 😦

Dont get me wrong I find that many of the motorists in Cape Town have been quite generous with their space and are often mindful of cyclists. It has however made me realise how vulnerable and at the mercy of other road users we are as a group.

That wont deter me though and I’ll just keep on riding our roads as they are otherwise beautiful. Just remember what if it is someone you know that is out cycling would you want them to share a similar fate? Think Bike and Enjoy the Ride.

Scotty

About scotttait

Cape Town guy living and loving life under the African Sun. I blog about my passions outside of work. These are Running (trail running particularly), Triathlon, Surfing, life in South Africa and the sporting challenges and races I take part in. If you want to learn more about me go to www.scotttait.co.za
This entry was posted in Cycling, Scotty's thoughts on ..... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

