On the road to recovery…… Again!

So here I sit on a rather chilly Sunday morning contemplating my rather slow recovery from flu (not man flu) and also now being only 6 days away from my biggest challenge ever, PUFfeR.

Thankfully since my last post I have been feeling better. Ok not 100% but at least good enough to try a bit of time on the bike yesterday. It was such a beautiful day I just couldnt resist. I had to curb my enthusiasm though as I wanted to really go longer and further but decided that was silly and just stuck to a shortened ride. Hell 2 hours on the bike is better than nothing even if it wasnt all that strenuous. It just felt good to be outdoors and enjoying the scenery again.

As always I couldnt resist taking a couple of pics to share on my twitter account @scott_tait. I have put some into this post to show my route and how great a day it was. As it was a bit of a spur of the moment decision I didnt have my usual weekend cycling buddies Miranda or Jason along for the ride and was out solo. It was a good excuse though to get down on the tri bars, put some music on and just zone in and enjoy the route.

Nature, no cars and just your thoughts

So I managed to do a surf check along the way and was admittedly a little envious of the guys ripping up some peaks at Scarborough in front of the carpark as there were only a handful out.

Some great surf this morning and only 4 guys out!

Witsands (not usually a big fan) had a couple of fun looking waves whilst 365 although a bit shifty looked like it had a couple of bombs. I lastly stopped by Long Beach to see how that was and although a bit bumpy the local groms were going mental. The water as beautifully clear and blue as it was looked decidely cold and so I was quite happy enjoying the winter sun and warm weather.

Small but fun conditions

From Kommetjie i headed homewards but then decided to head to Chappies (Chapmans Peak) to have a look at the view and to check the surf also. The ride there flew by and I was thankful for no heavy traffic. I stopped halfway up Chappies to take a pic, the surf looked fun although not many were out. Feeling refreshed and as if I had truly dropped my cold off en route I headed home.

It was a great day for a ride!

So ride completed and no wheezing or jelly legs I was stoked with my little comeback of sorts. I was so eager to test my running legs off the bike but figured I may be tempting fate and decided on a wholesome lunch and some sport on TV. Here is my garmin record on the bike yesterday.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/107942107

Just when I thought the day couldnt get any better I hooked up with a mate for a couple of beers, some pasta and a great game of rugby. A great game it was and it seemed that I was not the only one on the road to recovery as the Springoks beat the All Blacks. Its amazing what a positive result can do for your confidence!

The only thing I need to do now is ween myself off the cough mixture. Its strawberry flavoured and has done wonders these past 3 days.

So 6 Days to go to PUFfer and I am feeling much more positive about taking on my biggest challenge yet. I am nervous, excited, anxious, optimistic……… yes it is going to be one helluva rollercoaster ride on Saturday 27th August. As I said to someone on Friday I can think of no better excuse to spend a day on our beautiful Cape Peninsula Mountain Range.

Come what may I dont care about time I just want to enjoy it and have fun along the way. After all isn’t that why we challenge ourselves in the first place? For the enjoyment and because we can……….

Have fun challenging yourself

Best

Scotty

About scotttait

Cape Town guy living and loving life under the African Sun. I blog about my passions outside of work. These are Running (trail running particularly), Triathlon, Surfing, life in South Africa and the sporting challenges and races I take part in. If you want to learn more about me go to www.scotttait.co.za
This entry was posted in Life's a Journey, Running, Scotty's thoughts on ...... Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

