Ironman South Africa 2012 – This one’s for you Lucille Swart

ImageIt was back in 2011 when I first made contact with Lucille Swart or Lucy Lu (as I call her) via Twitter. I remember reading her bio, then her blog and feeling incredibly inspired by her and her positive outlook on life.  Lu was in Leukaemia remission and was literally taking life by the horns which I soon realised was how this special lady rolls! Over the past 12 months she has become more than just a person on twitter that I follow and tweet with. We have shared our thoughts, aspirations, music (through Collective Soul!), love for exercise and sport and plenty of good times and bad ones too. She is my friend.

Sadly Leukaemia came back a 3rd time and it was with disbelief and great sadness on Saturday that Lu informed me that her blood cell results were showing that her body was clearly not responding to treatment. I felt empty, I didn’t know what to say and it took me some time to respond to her. I so badly wanted to phone her but I knew once I heard her voice I would become a blubbering mess and she didn’t need that yesterday. We shared our thoughts through messages and I felt like we were both more assured of what Sunday held, when Lucy needed to make a decision about continuing her treatment.

Today @beanker and I have thought about Lu and we have shared our thoughts on this special lady. It was so uplifting to read Lu’s blog post.

Lucille, you are such a great source of inspiration to me since we have become friends. Whenever I pull on that @sunflowerfund top and train or race I think of you.

So my journey to Ironman South Africa has even greater meaning now as I have decided to dedicate this physical challenge to you, as you undergo your latest challenge.

The first person I am going to speak to when I cross that finish line as an Ironman on the 22nd April will be you Lucille.

Love

Scotty

About scotttait

Cape Town guy living and loving life under the African Sun. I blog about my passions outside of work. These are Running (trail running particularly), Triathlon, Surfing, life in South Africa and the sporting challenges and races I take part in. If you want to learn more about me go to www.scotttait.co.za
This entry was posted in Ironman South Africa, Scotty's thoughts on ..... and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ironman South Africa 2012 – This one’s for you Lucille Swart

  1. Kimmi says:

    Lucille Swart is one the most amazing Big sisters that I have ever had…(Sorry Jay I love you too)… I met Lucy in 2011 when we attended HFPA to do the same course. She took me under her wings and helped me find my feet every time I stumbled and hit the ground. I was 18 when I met her and immediately she became my inspiration in so many ways. I have never met a person that is so ready for life, fearless and extremely ruthless when it comes to training. She became my sister and best friend. Lucille Swart, thank you for touching so many lives! Thank you for being our Guardian Angle…

    Like

    • scotttait says:

      Hi Kimmi

      Thanks for sharing. You are not alone on your feelings for our special friend Lu. She is one of a kind and never ceases to amaze me with her positive approach to life.

      Scotty

      Like

  2. Annalize says:

    Scott, thanks for ur support and for beiing there for Lucille. Ur a great! Lucille is a great inspiration to us all.

    Like

  3. Landie says:

    Scott you are a wonderfull person, thank you. Lucille is such an inspiration to all I love her with my whole heart, but most of all, I admire her for her courage!

    Like

  4. AndrewGills says:

    That was a really moving post. My thoughts are with your friend and also with you as you both face your respective challenges (because I imagine it’s an emotional challenge also to be supportive to a friend during such difficult times).

    Like

  5. giloopy says:

    this is truly special Scott. Luc deserves every amazing thing that comes her way! her journey and fight inspires and humbles me a million times a day. i am so happy that you have a concrete way of showing her how much you care!

    Like

Leave a Reply

