Backyard run – Elsies Peak to Beacon Ridge

View from Beacon Ridge

View from Beacon Ridge

So last night I did a quick backyard run on the trails above where we currently live. It has been a while since I have done an Elsies Peak loop or one of the slightly longer routes I have that are between 5 and 8kms. I put on my @NathanPerfGear belt that I have been training with on many of my weekend trail runs and headed off.

The trail is all single track and ranges between being sandy and rocky. There are some nice climbs to get the legs pumping and several sections that have large rocky inclines that slow me down with my short legs not as springy as they once were.

Anyways it was after 6pm and I wanted to do a relaxed run up to Elsies Peak approaching from the FIsh Hoek side and then continue on across to Beacon Ridge that takes in the approximate 2km spine from Elsies to the beacon above Brakkekloof.

It was a bit windy with the south easter providing some resistance training and quiet with only one other runner enjoying the mountain. I hit Elsies Peak and stopped for a quick view and took some pics. it never ceases to amaze me how you notice something new whenever you are out on the same trail. I saw this small tribute to a loved one below the peak. I stopped and then put some flowers down for the lady and carried on.

A kindred spirit

A kindred spirit

I hared along with a strong tail wind on the winding path to the beacon and admittedly forgot how sandy and lung sapping the single track could be on the way to the top.

I eventually got there as time was approaching 7pm and stoppd to take in the clear 360 degree views from Simonstown across to Chapmans Peak and then further afield to Table Mountain and Devils Peak. I was a little tired but so happy being out up there on my own taking it all in. It was another serene moment out in my backyard and I was blessed to be able to have this piece of heaven on my doorstep.

View from Beacon Ridge

View from Beacon Ridge

I turned around after a while and reluctantly headed off back to my car at the parking spot at the top of Glencairn. I decided to put the burners on and give it a littlegas on the way back and my haste nearly resulted in some bush diving on more than one occasion.

I was a little shredded by the overgrown sections on the way back but I didnt care I was having the time of my life.

I am looking forward to my next backyard run and no doubt will be making a couple of new routes up.

The link to my garmin record is below
http://connect.garmin.com/activity/266034579

About scotttait

Cape Town guy living and loving life under the African Sun. I blog about my passions outside of work. These are Running (trail running particularly), Triathlon, Surfing, life in South Africa and the sporting challenges and races I take part in. If you want to learn more about me go to www.scotttait.co.za
This entry was posted in Scotty's thoughts on ....., Trail Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

