Don’t look back in anger…. The Rollercoaster Ride of 2010

Wow what an unforgettable year 2010 has been! It certainly was a year of real highs and lows, thrills and spills in short a real rollercoaster ride as I am sure many will agree!

Originally when writing this I was actually going to be a little more dramatic and perhaps a bit negative because 2010 was a bit gut-wrenching at times too. I think back to my 6 month running layoff due to plantar fasciitis that curtailed all my running aspirations for 2010, surfing injuries with a new scar to boot and then a rather tricky economic year that made my working year at times quite challenging.

So what was the revelation you may ask that caused me to change my outlook. It was actually a combination of listening to my wife (forever the voice of reason) and reading a rather inspiring email from Dawid Mocke the Champion Surfskier and all round nice guy that made me put things into perspective. Dawid’s retelling of an experience he had whilst out surfskiing I thought I would share with you here!

Dawid was out with his surfski partner Oscar attempting to do the fastest ‘Millers Run’ in a double surf ski. They were just outside the Fish Hoek Bay with everything going to plan when their ski suddenly tipped and they were put overboard into the drink, in Shark Infested waters. As Dawid put it “it was an unscheduled swim which happened while doing the right thing that caught us off guard”. Dawid and Oscar reacted quickly and were back onboard focused and determined ultimately achieving their goal of doing the fastest Millers Run. The untimely swim helped Dawid gain perspective when looking back on his 2010. “It’s what we DO with that unexpected event that sets us apart”. Their swim could have sabotaged their mission however instead of throwing hands in the air they stayed completely focused on their goal and kept going for it with determination until they ultimately achieved their goal.

So in short Dawid’s story made me re evaluate my 2010 also. I looked back at 2010 and the challenges I had faced and with every challenge that had arisen there had also come opportunity. I am thankful now as these challenges may have seemed tough at the time but the opportunity to overcome them has made me stronger from each experience.

Every cloud has a silver lining as the saying goes! 2011 is unwritten and with focus and determination those challenges that may lie ahead for us can be turned into goals to strive for and to be achieved. It is all a case of our interpretation or as I have been saying even more of late about having a Positive Attitude and a Positive Approach.

Relish the Challenge and Have Fun at Every Opportunity.

Have an amazing 2011 everyone.

Best

Scotty

Achieve your Goals in 2011

About scotttait

Cape Town guy living and loving life under the African Sun. I blog about my passions outside of work. These are Running (trail running particularly), Triathlon, Surfing, life in South Africa and the sporting challenges and races I take part in. If you want to learn more about me go to www.scotttait.co.za
This entry was posted in Life's a Journey, Scotty's thoughts on ..... and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Don’t look back in anger…. The Rollercoaster Ride of 2010

  1. Kate says:

    Go Scotty!!! Awesome attitude. x

    Like

Leave a comment